Norwich dominate PFA team of the year

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
June 4, 2021
    Add a header to begin generating the table of contents
    Scroll to Top

    Emi Buendia, Tim Krul and Teemu Pukki (left to right)Emi Buendia (left) was involved in 31 Championship goals this season, while Tim Krul (centre) kept 18 clean sheets and Teemu Pukki scored 26 times

    Six Norwich City players have been included in the Professional Footballers' Association Championship team of the year.

    Tim Krul, Grant Hanley, Max Aarons, Oliver Skipp, Emi Buendia and Teemu Pukki were all picked by fellow players after helping Norwich to the title.

    Play-off winners Brentford had Ethan Pinnock, Rico Henry and the league's top scorer Ivan Toney included.

    No Watford players were chosen in the side despite them finishing second.

    Reading midfielder Michael Olise and Blackburn striker Adam Armstrong made up the rest of the team, with the PFA awards being held on Sunday, 6 June.

    PFA Championship team of the year

    Hull lead the way in League One

    Champions Hull City have four players named in the League One team of the year – defenders Lewis Coyle and Callum Elder, midfielder George Honeyman and forward Mallik Wilks, who scored 19 goals and assisted eight more.

    Only 31-goal top scorer Jonson Clarke-Harris made it in for runners-up Peterborough, with goalkeeper Glenn Maxwell the sole representative from play-off victors Blackpool.

    Sunderland pair Aiden McGeady and Charlie Wyke, Lincoln duo Lewis Montsma and Jorge Grant and Oxford United centre-back Rob Atkinson make up the rest of the side.

    PFA League One team of the year

    Cambridge's Hoolahan makes League Two XI

    Thirty-nine-year-old former Republic of Ireland midfielder Wes Hoolahan is one of three players from second-placed Cambridge United to make the League Two team of the year.

    His team-mates Kyle Knoyle and Paul Mullin, who led the division's goalscoring charts with 32 goals, are also included.

    Defenders Ben Tozer and William Boyle were voted into the team for champions Cheltenham while fellow promoted side Bolton are represented by centre-back Ricardo Santos and striker Eoin Doyle.

    No Morecambe players are included despite their play-off triumph, with Salford keeper Vaclav Hladky, Newport midfielder Josh Sheehan, Exeter's Matt Jay and Tranmere striker James Vaughan completing the team.

    PFA League Two team of the yearBanner Image Reading Around the BBC - Blue

    • Cristiano Ronaldo: How did he became the world's biggest one man footballing brand?
    • When I Was 25: Olympian Dame Kelly Holmes opens up about about some incredibly difficult decisions

    Footer - Blue


    READ:  'I've seen enough to see we can compete'
    Arsenal’s Miedema wins BBC award

    Vivianne Miedema wins BBC Women's Footballer of the Year 2021 Netherlands and Arsenal striker Vivianne Miedema has been named BBC Women's Footballer of the Year …

    ‘Minor start for Man Utd but major work lying ahead of Rangnick’

    Jadon Sancho put Man United ahead after 50 minutes with his first Premier League goal The sight of Manchester United technical director Darren Fletcher fiddling …

    Cole apologises for Holocaust analogy

    Cole retired from football in 2018 Former England striker Carlton Cole has apologised after he compared the possibility of a heavy West Ham defeat by …

    Notify of
    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments
    June 4, 2021
      Add a header to begin generating the table of contents
      Scroll to Top
      • Bookmakers Bonus

      Registration bonus up to 250 Euro!

      Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
      This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.